As elections approach, former PTI MP Wajiha Qamar resigns, joins PML-N

(Left to right) Senior PML-N leader Ahsan Iqbal, former PTI MLA Wajiha Qamar, former PM Shehbaz Sharif and Ataullah Tarar.  - X/@pmln_org
(Left to right) Senior PML-N leader Ahsan Iqbal, former PTI MLA Wajiha Qamar, former PM Shehbaz Sharif and Ataullah Tarar. – X/@pmln_org
  • Qamar expressed full confidence in Nawaz and Shahbaz.
  • Says PML-N played a “historic role” in Pakistan’s progress.
  • Shahbaz congratulated him for joining PML-N.

With elections approaching, the exodus of leaders from Imran Khan-led Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has intensified as another MLA from the former ruling party, Wajiha Qamar, on Sunday announced quitting the party and joining Pakistan Muslim League of. League-Nawaz (PML-N).

This week, at least three more PTI leaders left the party and joined Istehkaam-e-Pakistan Party (IPP) of Jahangir Khan Tareen – once a close ally of Khan.

Three women politicians from PTI – Andaleeb Abbas, Sadiya Sohail and Sumaira Bukhari announced their affiliation with his party in a meeting with Tareen.

Qamar was the latest PTI leader to break away from PTI.

Qamar formally announced his joining PML-N during a meeting with party president Shehbaz Sharif. Speaking on the occasion, the former Prime Minister congratulated him for joining the PML-N.

On his part, Qamar expressed full confidence in Nawaz Sharif, Shehbaz’s leadership and the party’s manifesto.

Praising former three-time prime minister Nawaz, he said that under Nawaz’s leadership the party played a “historic role” in Pakistan’s progress and development.

Without naming PTI, he said the “force of destruction” has harmed the country and its people. The former PTI leader urged people to support the “power of creation”.

After the May 9 riots, PTI leaders started leaving the party. PTI Chairman Imran Khan was arrested on May 9 in a corruption case, following which the party led massive protests across the country, targeting government establishments.

During the riots, important military installations including the General Headquarters (GHQ) in Rawalpindi and the residence of the Lahore Corp Commander were vandalized.

Following this, action was initiated against those involved in the incidents, which led to the arrest of hundreds of party workers and leaders, including Vice President Shah Mehmood Qureshi.

After this, there was a massive exodus of PTI leaders and many people who claimed to leave the party had said in their press conference that they had said goodbye to politics.

Many of the PTI stalwarts who joined the IPP include Fawad Chaudhry, Ali Zaidi, Imran Ismail, Faizul Hasan Chauhan and Murad Raas. However, some others joined PPP, PML-N and other political parties.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top